Under Arkansas law, a misdemeanor is a crime that is less serious than a felony and is usually punishable by fine and/or imprisonment in the county jail for a period of not more than 1 year.

Misdemeanors are designated by statute by the classifications A, B and C and D.

  • For a Class A misdemeanor, upon conviction the sentence shall not exceed 1 year in the county jail and may include a fine not exceeding $2,500.00.
  • For a Class B misdemeanor, upon conviction the sentence shall not exceed 90 days in the county jail and may include a fine not exceeding $1,000.00.
  • For a Class C misdemeanor, upon conviction the sentence shall not exceed 30 days in the county jail and may include a fine not exceeding $500.00.
  • For an unclassified misdemeanor, the sentence shall be in accord with the statute defining the misdemeanor. Driving While Intoxicated is an example of such an unclassified misdemeanor and has its own structure of fines, jail terms and additional penalties.

The District Courts of the State of Arkansas have initial jurisdiction to try persons charged with the commission of a misdemeanor. All convictions rendered by the District Court of the State or Arkansas are subject to an appeal to the Circuit Court of the county in which the District Court is located.

Circuit Courts have jurisdiction to hear appeals from District Courts as well as misdemeanor proceedings that are filed directly with the Circuit Court. Venue generally lies in the county in which the act occurred for which the charge is made.

Gary McDonald Attorney at Law
Offices Located in Simmons First Bank Plaza
100 West Grove Suite 308 El Dorado AR
PHONE (870) 862-1498 FAX (870) 862-4071
E-Mail: gary@garymcdonald.net